New Member with NUGD question about serial number

Reaction score
Newbie here. I just picked up a JF-65-12 SB and am loving it! I have an Orpheum 12 fret dred in mahogany/Adirondack and an F-55 in rosewood already, so the maple sunburst 12 fills out the flavors quite well. My question is it was sold as a 1994 but the serial number does not match with anything in the Guild files, though it is very close to a 1987 number, but most similar to the JF65M. It's definitely a Westerly by the label and it matches the back of the headstock. Does anyone have any ideas? I think it might be one of the first JF-65-12's made?
Thanks in advance and looking forward to spending time here!

Model: JF-65-12 SB. Serial Number: JF65012X.

Stuball48

Gold Supporting
Reaction score
Welcome Quake. No information from other than to say I bought a JF65 maple and was a super fine guitar. I try to keep a maple in my stable and Guild has the best maples IMO.
Enjoy and your Guilds are 2nd to none--Orpheum and F55R.

adorshki

Reverential Member
Reaction score
Newbie here. I just picked up a JF-65-12 SB and am loving it! I have an Orpheum 12 fret dred in mahogany/Adirondack and an F-55 in rosewood already, so the maple sunburst 12 fills out the flavors quite well. My question is it was sold as a 1994 but the serial number does not match with anything in the Guild files, though it is very close to a 1987 number, but most similar to the JF65M. It's definitely a Westerly by the label and it matches the back of the headstock. Does anyone have any ideas? I think it might be one of the first JF-65-12's made?
Thanks in advance and looking forward to spending time here!

Model: JF-65-12 SB. Serial Number: JF65012X.

Hi Quake, welcome aboard!
Those s/n charts are known to be rife with errors especially during that period when George Gruhn's new model numbering system started kicking in.