Trying to date my S-100

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to LTG. I bought a Guild S-100 from a guy around 2001. It's a NB ri with a serial number FB001023. Is this one of the last ones made, (circa 2000)? I have the original case and hang tags as well. I have tried to look this up before, but the highest serial numbers I've seen have only gone up to the 700's. I know that things were transitioning for Guild when Fender bought them and I was curious to know where it was built. Thanks.

hansmoust

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Re: Trying to date my s100

pdiddy said:
Hello, I'm new to LTG. I bought a Guild S-100 from a guy around 2001. It's a NB ri with a serial number FB001023. Is this one of the last ones made, (circa 2000)?

Hello pdiddy,

Welcome! Your Guild S-100 was made in Westerly, RI during the year 1998, so it's not exactly one of the last ones.

Sincerely,

Hans Moust
http://www.guitarsgalore.nl

Zelja

Reaction score
Re: Trying to date my s100

Hans to the rescue! Welcome to LTG pdiddy & get yourself on the S-100 owners roster.

drc

Reaction score
I think we should start a collection for Hans. Everytime he helps someone out they have to send him a dollar.

Hmmm.. I just looked up Hans address and it appears he lives at my house?! I'm gonna be sooo rich! :lol: :lol:

Reaction score
Thanks for the help Hans! It's nice to finally know the "when and where" of that guitar. I do have a couple more to figure out but I'll have to try some Gibson and Gretsch pages for those. Maybe that east coast "moxy" will come through in my playing on some level from knowing it was put together in Westerly.

SFIV1967

Venerated Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
drc said:
I think we should start a collection for Hans. Everytime he helps someone out they have to send him a dollar.
I think if everyone who asks would at least buy Hans' book, he would be equally happy !
Ralf

lostdog

Reaction score
Welcome pdiddy,

Great forum and great people.