The Incredible Peavey T-60 Solid Body Guitar

alltruenews

Reaction score
In 1978, as a high school sophomore, I begged my parents for a solid body guitar. I had always respected Peavey for their great amps so petitioned them for this new product, the T-60.

I remember the price tag was $300 and this was a considerable amount back then... probably a bit more than a good week's pay for a well paid parent. They took the chance and got it for my birthday. I played that guitar hard and solid for 16 years, but reluctantly sold it to pay bills in 1994. The music store I sold it to was almost completely unfamiliar with the guitar (which was the love of my musical life.)

Now they are commanding big money on ebay and are finally getting the respect they deserve. They were heavy and didn't give you tons of tone options. However the actual sound, action and quality of build was well, well beyond anything out there for even twice the money.

When I have a few bucks, I will buy the best representative of that guitar I can find. Man, I loved that guitar!

alltruenews

Reaction score
I had the natural wood model.

Believe it or not, I used it primarily for Jazz. I eventually bought an X-170 which I accidentally ruined by storing in a house heated by a wood stove.

The Peavey T-60 was versatile and the sound was warm and very controllable, but it could scream if you needed it to. I understand that this guitar is now showing up in country session play and this is driving the cost up.

If you're a collector, I recommend grabbing one while their still around the $1,000 mark and holding on to it. If you can bear to sell it 15 years from now, it will bring huge money.

beinhard

Reaction score
Guild Total
Yeah, I remember the T-60. Almost bought one when I was looking for my first good electric, back in the late seventies.
It was a close call between the T-60, a Japanese Washburn Falcon, a Guild M80 and an S300-D.