Guild Superstar Amplifier

wyndworks

Reaction score
Hello LTGites,
I am a newbie here on LTG. I found this site looking for information about my Guild Superstar amp - Serial No. S1117. I may have missed this information on this site somewhere but I am going to ask anyway. Are there any schematics for this amp floating around? Does anyone know how I can date the Superstar? Any information will be greatly appreciated. This amp has been in my basement for several years and used to work. I was cleaning it out yesterday and found out a tube (one of the 12ax7's) was missing and that somehow the cardboard tube cap (I guess it is a cap) was broken where it was screwed into the amp and a solder joint came loose. I will get into fixing those known problems but wanted schematics just in case those fixes don't work. Are parts available? I am not trying to restore this to original, but use it to play with. Any and all advise will be gratefully received. Thank you guys in advance.

capnjuan

Gone But Not Forgotten
Gone But Not Forgotten
Reaction score
Hi wyndworks and welcome to LTG. At the bottom of my post is a PM button; hit it and send me a note including your email address; I have a schematic labeled Guild Thunderbird / Superstar and a couple of others I can send you. The most reliable way to date the amp is using the EIA codes stamped into the side, or printed on the back, of the pots. This page will help you ID the mfr and interpret the date coding.