Thunderbass advice wanted

Reaction score
Hello LTG.
Your Guild amp forum is unmatched on the Internet. Thanks to y'all, the web no longer has a dearth of info on Guild amps. Rather, there is just a shortage.

So here's my story and my reason for posting. About a decade ago I received a Thunderbass head. It didn't work due to some burned up resistors in the bias circuit. After my main amp was stolen ('63 Bandmaster) I had it repaired (and got a grounded cord) and have been using it since. I like it a lot. I suspect I could truly love it if it was what I imagine it could be.

I have a plan for this amp: I want it sound as good as it looks. (I think the head looks great.) I know I should overhaul this thing. I would like to do the work myself. I don't normally play in old electronics, but I know my theory, can solder well, and am very afraid of electrocution (read know I must drain the filter caps). Eventually, I might want to mod one of the channels (I'm a guitarist for the most part). And there are some problematic noises that come out from time to time. I'll start with some pron. (I have the cabinet which is 3/4 inch plywood, black tolex, and two vents on top. I just didn't include it here.)

Front.png

Rear.png

Underside.png

The serial no. is 7197.
The intended tubes are (3) 12ax7, (1) 7247, (2) 6l6.

I identify this amp as a Thunderbass 1-A. Because of the cabinet styling and serial number I guess it is late in the run and from 1969. Does anyone think I'm wrong?

First question: What are the dangers and problems presented by using a 12ax7 instead of the 7247 as the inverter driver? That has been the case for the past few years and nothing noticeable has changed in the amp. I know the 7247 is half 12ax7 and half 12au7, so I suspect half of the signal is being over driven and the push-pull doesn't sum back up as it should.