Guild M-75 Aristocrat and Bluesbird construction

Reaction score
Hey there, Guild lovers. I'm new to this great and friendly forum. I'm glad to have lucked into this wealth of info on Guild instruments! I love the way everyone shares what they know.

I am wondering if anyone can tell me about the construction details of the various iterations of Guild M-75, Aristocrat, and Bluesbird models. I've read through Hans Moust's great book, and I've scoured through the internet and this forum for answers before posting this question. I've seen references to photos and/or drawings, but they have been dead links or linked to image websites that require membership.

Last year my son bought a black Bluesbird in Vancouver, BC, Canada, and it is interesting and got me curious about these instruments. His is apparently a late 1969 model (SN: DD 355) that has some non-original parts (I believe) and is in fair condition.

From unscrewing the pickups on this guitar, I can see that the body has laminated maple top and back (and, presumably, sides) with kerfing and a neck block, just like a standard laminated hollow-body archtop. I'm quite curious about the chambered mahogany models with the spruce tops, and the routing patterns --- on both the older models and the newer Newark Street models.

If someone can share descriptions, photos or even napkin sketches, I'd love to see them. Thanks!

SFIV1967

Venerated Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
Welcome to LTG!

Let me start with the first model:

Aristocrat M-75:
Laminated Spruce top, solid Honduras Mahogany back, laminated Honduras Mahogany sides, a hollow body construction.
That's the kind of model that you see in Hans book on pages 56 and 70. They were produced between 1954 and 1963.

This is my 1956 one, looking inside though removed output jack hole:

ROf9E8g.jpg

Ralf

Reaction score
Thank you for the welcome, Ralf. And thanks for starting this investigation off with a nice pic and description of your '56.