Distortion issue

theonemanband

Reaction score
Distortion issue......SOLVED!!

Hello,

I am new to electric guitars, having just bought a new Newark St. Starfire 1V/ST 12 string.
Having played acoustic 12 strings for the last thirty odd years, a recent wrist injury demanded I get something easier on the fretting hand and after a coming to terms with this whole fresh sound, I couldn’t be more happy with my new Guild.

However one issue I would like some advice on please........

Occasionally on a gig, I need to DI the guitar directly into the venue mixer and for this I use my regular Zoom MS-100BT multi fx stompbox. As I have no access to the mixer and need a little more volume, if I crank either or both of the volume pots on the guitar up high (75~100%) it introduces distortion into the sound, not the nice clean sound I desire.

Is this a feature of all humbucker pickups or is it just a feature of the Guild mini’s as fitted to my guitar and any advice on how I can address the issue please?

Thank You.......Brian

Please ignore this post, I found the problem was caused by my settings in the DI box NOT the guitar!!

Last edited:

Super Moderator
Platinum Supporting
Reaction score
Guild Total
Cool, but you still have to post pics of the 12 string.

It's the law. <folds arms>

Nuuska

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
What were the settings ? In case I have the same thing happen.

Just guessing . . .

Master volume and/or channel fader way too low on mixer - forces GAIN to be brought up to limit.

theonemanband

Reaction score
Firstly, thank you for the replies!

“Default”....Hi, when I figure out how to post pictures, I’ll happily do that.

The DI/multi fx unit I use has various guitar amp modelling, (although I have never used this feature before and only use it for a little reverb/chorus etc).