Ahhh Jeez... another "What Pickup" thread - New D40 Traditional

pancho400cid

Reaction score
Hi Guys -

Santa is bringing me a new D40 Traditional in antique burst finish! Can't wait!

More on that if you care:
http://www.letstalkguild.com/ltg/showthread.php?197875-Noob-sorely-tempted-by-D40E

Right now I play rhythm guitar and sing in a traditional country band, with electric guitar, bass, drums and pedal steel when luck permits. We have not gigged any yet but will start on Jan 16, 2019 and hopefully a couple of times a month thereafter.

The D40 Traditional does not have a pickup, and I need to put a pick-up in/on it. I want something worthy of the guitar. I have very little knowledge of / experience with amplification of acoustic guitars. I hate to drill/cut on a new guitar, but I need it to do what I'm doing....

I started out looking at a D40E which comes from the factory with an LR Baggs Element VTC pickup. That would be an option I suppose. It's good enough for the Guild guys apparently.

On this forum, the Wavelength multi-source (formerly DTAR) has been suggested. That too was offered from the factory by Guild in the past I am told.

https://www.seymourduncan.com/acoustic/wave-length-multi-source-system-steel

The wavelength looks tempting as I like the piezo / microphone combo - but I have a few questions about it:

1 - Specs say "18 volts" yet the batteries are two 1.5 Volt AA's... how does that work?

2 - Is a pre-amp of some type recommended or required?

What am I not thinking of? Any input appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited:

adorshki

Reverential Member
Reaction score
On this forum, the Wavelength multi-source (formerly DTAR) has been suggested. That too was offered from the factory by Guild in the past I am told.

https://www.seymourduncan.com/acoustic/wave-length-multi-source-system-steel

The wavelength looks tempting as I like the piezo / microphone combo - but I have a few questions about it: