1974 m85 sii ch

Reaction score
What does the "S" stand for in this model number?

Assuming "CH" means Cherry.

I have my eye on one...Is this bass worth much...I want to buy it because I like the bass and heard good things about tone.

Condition is VG.

Open back gear tuners on this...Is this original for '74?

Thanks for any information in advance!

mellowgerman

Reaction score
I could be dead wrong, but my guess is that what looks to be an "S" is most likely a sloppy dash?
I have never heard of an "S" being spliced in that way on any Guild bass, though I believe it should normally be M85-II CH or SFB-II CH... or would it be M-85 II CH? I've owned several vintage Starfires but never an M85 so I'm by no means an expert on these basses. Do you have a photo of the label by chance?

Last edited:

fronobulax

Bassist, GAD and the Hot Mess Mods
Reaction score
Guild Total
Welcome. Never heard of a M85 with any kind of "S" in the model. My guess is sloppy handwriting but if you can get a picture of the label, host it elsewhere and link to it here we can confirm that or add to our knowledge.

The earliest M85's were hollow bodies. Circa 1972 or 73 they were re-imagined as a solid body instrument so if your date is 1974 then it should be a solid body and probably looks a lot like (LTG member) guildsofgrot's below.

1973aM-85Solid.JPG

To the extent that you can compare a solid M85 II with Guild humbuckers to a Guild JS II with humbuckers, I would say that the tone is distinctive, good for some styles but not all. But my opinion is definitely colored by a personal preference for vintage Bisonics.