Franz neck pickup loose inside - NS X175B

jm345

Reaction score
I have a 2013 NS X-175B. I had a buzz with certain notes I couldn't find and get rid of and think I have finally traced it to the neck pickup. I took the cover off and the pickup base is securely mounted with the four screws. But the black winding part can float up and down the poles. I am tempted to put something like foam on the winding part so when I put the cover back on it will compress and hold it down so it won't rattle or buzz. Does that make any sense? I am new to these Franz P-90s so I am not sure how they are supposed to be. Thanks

Super Moderator
Platinum Supporting
Reaction score
Guild Total
They aren't supposed to be loose! There should be a couple of screws holding it to the baseplate. :mad-new:

jm345

Reaction score
I took the pickup out and turned it over. I see two brass/gold screws. One has soldered wire to it. Both are tight. The pickup winding rides up and down on these screws just like the pole pieces. The wider head of the pole pieces is the only thing that prevents the winding from coming off. Maybe the holes for the two screws were stripped? Should I use a piece of toothpick in the hole so the screws will have something to bite into? Any other suggestions? Thanks

jm345

Reaction score
Need pictures !

Not sure how to add photos.

The holes in the black winding part are too big for the two screws. Maybe I could wrap the screws with bunch of teflon pipe tape?

kakerlak

Reaction score
Not sure how to add photos.

The holes in the black winding part are too big for the two screws. Maybe I could wrap the screws with bunch of teflon pipe tape?