The Quintessential Guild Guitar Collection - Opinions

sixx

Reaction score
Guild Total
I'm a Guild noob and am reading past posts here in an effort to rapidly educate myself. Until that happens (which quite honestly is going to take a while), what would you say is the top 3-5 guitars that a fingerstyle/strummer type player should focus on pursuing that best represents the Guild sound without too much tonal overlap? While I understand that Guild is building some great instruments currently, let's focus on past models (IE. Hartford, Tacoma, Corona, Westerly, Hoboken, etc.)

Basically I'd like to know what models I should be on the watch for that if I stumble upon a good example I should snatch up.

What guits are a MUST to have? :nevreness:

Reaction score
Any pre-1970 solid-back model, though I'm personally fondest of the D- and bigger F- boxes. (I briefly owned a 1970 F-47 that was a disappointment--perhaps because it seems to have been a double-braced 12-string body with a 6-string neck. Never woke up.)

But I've played plenty of later-ownership Guilds that struck me as having that 1960s sound, particularly one F-47 from the Tacoma period. Regular time machine, that one.

chazmo

Super Moderator
Reaction score
D25, f20, f50, d55, f412

I love Wood's list here, but I'd offer some alternatives for ya'... For the F-50 (which is an arch-back maple), I'd say the F-50R (which is solid rosewood back) is a wonderful (and tonally different) alternative. For the D-55, I'd also recommend the D-50 (which also has a rosewood back)... But, if you chose to go rosewood with the jumbo, you might like a D-40 (solid mahogany) instead with a big sound but big contrast to the F-50R. Finally, while I love the F-412 (arched maple), I'd suggest that you try the F-512 (solid rosewood). I could sing praises to the F-512 all day, but it rules the roost at casa Chaz. If you do prefer a more damped or just different sound, there are smaller F-body and D-body (G-312, G-212) 12-strings to have.