Westerly Guild F50...Need Help Quickly Please

sixx

Reaction score
Guild Total
So I'm a noob to Guilds but I've been hanging out over at AGF for quite a while. Time I should have been practicing. :nevreness:

Here's the deal:

I played a '79 F50 today in good shape cosmetically, the frets are playable (big honkin' jumbo frets), the neck is straight, and I pushed and tapped - didn't hear any loose braces. The guit sounded pretty darn good (me likey) but volume was a bit lacking because:

1) Had low tension silk and steel light gauge strings, because:

2) It needs a neck reset. Not much saddle at all and the action is already "highish" with the low tension strings.

3) The bridge is lifting.

I'd like to have the guitar but I'm not sure what a neck reset on an older Guild would cost plus the bridge reglued at the same time.

Anyone have any thought as to potential costs and also can recommend a luthier in the AZ area? I'm going to need to offer a price today. Tks much

sixx

Reaction score
Guild Total
So I played a '79 F50 today in good shape cosmetically, the frets are playable (big honkin' jumbo frets), the neck is straight, and I pushed and tapped - didn't hear any loose braces. The guit sounded pretty darn good (me likey) but volume was a bit lacking because:

1) Had low tension silk and steel light gauge strings, because:

2) It needs a neck reset. Not much saddle at all and the action is already "highish" with the low tension strings.

3) The bridge is lifting.

I'd like to have the guitar but I'm not sure what a neck reset on an older Guild would cost plus the bridge reglued at the same time.

Anyone have any thought as to potential costs and also can recommend a luthier in the AZ area? I'm going to need to offer a price today. Tks much

chazmo

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Welcome aboard, sixx.