I’m finally getting a T-100D

KidAfterDark

Reaction score
I’m finally getting a T-100D

3H38j7
I’ve been wanting a Guild T-100D for years and finally should be getting one within weeks! I am told it’s a 1965 but there are a few odd things about this one that I’m unsure of! First, which pickups are these? Also, most necks I’ve seen have dots, not diamonds like this one, thirdly, where can I find a replacement pickguard that would be appropriate for this year & model. Pics attached:

WVwsHW

WJ9fv5

http://www.flickr.com/photos/glennsebastian/shares/Pg4Rw6

Last edited:

jp

Reaction score
Guild Total
Hi KAD and welcome to the forum!

That's an interesting example of a T-100D. Here's some info and answers to your questions.
-- The inlays are definitely not standard. I think I may have seen these on Guild acoustics before, but I'm not an expert enough to claim that they signify a custom order.
-- The truss rod cover is almost assuredly not stock.
-- The Grover Rotomatic tuners became standard on some models in 1965, so they're probably original.
-- The switch tips on these are usually metal with a domed top rather than a completely round top.
-- The pickups are single coils known as "mickey mouse" pickups because the surrounds are usually black, and the tops white. Yours are different in that the outer rim of the pickup is white, whereas they're usually chrome and come up over the edges. This isn't so unusual, though, and other examples like yours pop up occasionally.
-- The bridge is an oddball. These bridges were standard equipment on the solid body S-series and M-75s, and rarely appear on the semi-hollow Starfires. I've never seen one mounted on a wooden base before, so I don't know if this was a factory thing or something someone else added later.