F-50R vs. D-55

Rich Cohen

Reaction score
My apologies if this subject has been already discussed in detail.
I'd like to know your opinion of the overall sound between the F-50R and the D-55. Highs, mids and lows, projection, ease of playing, etc.
Many thanks,
Rich Cohen

F-48, F47 (NH), DV-52, F-412 (NH)

chazmo

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Interesting comparison, Rich.

The D-55s I've played over the years are remarkably well-balanced instruments. Not too boomy. Very even volume across the strings. My inclination is to compare it to other dreadnoughts, such as the D-50 -- which is a boomy monster by comparison (and I LOVE it). :)

The F50R is probably my favorite 6-string, so I can't think of anything to say to sway you otherwise. I used to be a "dread" man back in the day, but I learned about other guitar shapes as I studied Taylors when I came back to guitars in the late'90s and early 00's. Anyway, the Guild jumbo body shape is just a honey. And, playability is just awesome if you've got the guitar set up right. Same holds for the F-50R's brother, the F-512, which is my all-time favorite 12-string.

justforfun

Reaction score
I have both. They are both 2009 New Hartford guitars. The D55 is a very early build (1/06/09).

I find the D55 to have greater note clarity, more headroom and is louder than the F50R (the D55 has JP Bluegrass strings at the moment and the F50R is usually strung the JP PB lights). The F50R is warmer. I love them both.

I also have a GV52. All three are Sitka over Rosewood and each sound very different from one another. I also have a couple of maples, a sitka hog and an all hog. Each sounds beautiful in its own way.

You really can't go wrong with either. So...........get them both!

Neal

Reaction score
I have owned both, but of different vintages ('76 F-50R and '08 D-55 prototype), both of which now reside with LTG members.