Question about Aviator finish options, tuners, and pick guards

Reaction score
Hi. I'm new to Let's Talk Guild. I'm hoping someone can help me. I recently picked a S284 Aviator SN is HG100263. As best I can tell, it's a 1985. It's black with a black pick guard, EMG hss pup configuration, and Kahler trem. I'd like to know what kind of finish was used on these guitars so I can come up with the best course of action for cleaning it up. Did they use nitro, poly, or something else? It's covered in stickers and somewhere along the line someone did a dripping blood paint scheme on the head stock. (I'll try to post pics in the next day or two if needed) I want to clean it up and get it as close to factory condition as possible.

I was also wondering what kind of tuners were used at the factory. It looks like someone swapped out the tuners for Schallers.

Lastly, any recommendations for a replacement pick guard? There are large pieces broken off near the tone knob. Does anyone have any NOS pick guards kicking around?

Thanks in advance for any help and information.

Super Moderator
Platinum Supporting
Reaction score
Guild Total
Try lighter fluid/naptha. You can get that in any hardware store. It won't hurt lacquer or poly. Can't help you on the pg, but welcome to the forum!

matsickma

Reaction score
Google"Pick guard Heaven" and search under Guild. They sell pickguards for the S284 Aviator. You have some choices on pickguards material type. I bought a pickguards for a '63 Thunderbird and it worked out fine.
M

txbumper57

Enlightened Member
Reaction score