Guild Thunder I Reverb T1-RVT

Tubeblaster

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I just joined and have been perusing threads about this amp. I have the opportunity to purchase a Guild Thunder I Reverb T1-RVT from the original owner. I have the amp in my possession right now for evaluation. It hasn't been played in 10 years. I heard it at that time and it sounded OK although there was some hum (probably old filter caps). Before that, it hadn't been played since the late 1970's.

It has the two-tone tweed grill and surprisingly; it has a three prong cord. It's serial #6657. It has the polarity switch, which surprised me since it has the 3-prong cord. My buddy told me his parents bought it new for him in 1968 and I don't think any work has been done on it. I can see the 6GWB tubes have the Guild brand on them and are presumably original.

I'm interested in restoring this amp for my personal use. I'm a hobbyist and am fairly well-read on tube amps with some experience helping restore a Fender Deluxe Reverb and a 1938 Gibson EH-150 with a field coil speaker. I did have amp tech help with these projects and may do so again with this amp if I take it on.

I have this amp for 3-4 weeks for evaluation and am favorably inclined to tackle this but I could use some advice. Since it hasn't been turned on in 10 years, I'm reluctant to do so since the filter caps are probably not up to the task and I don't want to fry any other components. I assume it should be brought up on a variac for evaluation before going any further.

I see the tube compliment on these amps is peculiar and the prices for NOS replacements are expensive (but within my means).

Cosmetically, the amp has some grime and stains but the tolex and tweed are in pretty good shape. It has a 12" main speaker and the reverb speaker. It has the reverb footswitch. The front panel dials turn without trouble.