'73 F212 "6-String"

Chamlin

Reaction score
Bought my F212 new in 1973 as my sole acoustic guitar and played it as a 12-string for 10 years. I tired of the 12-string sound and didn't have the money for a 6-string, so I started playing it as a 6-string and have done so for the last 33 years.

Whenever I bring it in to get maintained repair guys and luthiers rave about its sound. One recently said, "The wood on some guitars ages better than others. This one aged a lot better than others." It does sound really good, is easy to play and sounds great when I'm recording acoustic guitar tracks (I'm primarily a strummer).

BUT...I always felt it lacked a bottom end and have waffled for many years about selling it so I can get a dreadnought 6-string. Thing is...it sounds so good and everyone tells me I wouldn't be able to get something that sounds this good for what I'd get for the F212.

So just opening this up to see what you more experienced guitarists have to say on this topic and I welcome all opinions.

--- What are your thoughts on the above?
--- Why IS the value of these guitars so relatively low compared to new ones?
--- Is it true (as I've been told) that dreadnoughts with more bottom end don't record as well or are harder to get a good recording from?
--- What kind of replacement hard case is recommended? The original one I have (no name on it btw) should probably be replaced at some point.

Thanks all! Grateful for any input.
Chamlin

geoguy

Reaction score
Welcome to LTG, Chamlin. :cool:

Perhaps you can buy (or try) a couple of dreads before selling this F212? That might help you decide which sound you prefer.

davismanLV

Venerated Member
Reaction score
Guild Total