Guild Starfire V with Bigsby Newark Street 2014

Reaction score
Hello Guild Lovers, I am a newbie here and on the Guild World.

I decided to buy a Semi (I have Les Pauls and Strats) and fell in love with the Guild Starfire V with Bigsby (2014 model). I found one in Stores and got it hold for me to try.

As Guild has moved to Cordoba there are not many of this model available and the only reviews I've seen (Excellent ones by the way) are form UK Guitarist Magazine: http://www.musicradar.com/news/guitars/namm-2014-the-best-new-electric-guitars-593567/4

Any one here owns one of this? Are any drawbacks on this? When I search in this forum for "Starfire V' I don't get a lot of results. What about this guitar that have catch my dreams but non have been talking about it?

Any thoughts will be appreciated

All the best,

André

Super Moderator
Platinum Supporting
Reaction score
Guild Total
The problem is that the SFV is a new model, introduced right before Guild was sold to Cordoba. CMG has their collective hands full at the moment, but there will still be guitars in the pipeline. Fender wasn't putting a lot of effort into Guild marketing, but I'm pleased with the Newark Street SFIV I have.

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply Default, I understand that.

So probably, if I get this Starfire V with Bigsby, I'll be on of the few to have it before the Cordoba ones arrive. I am so excited about it and that I could get a very nice Semi for a lot less than the Gibson Es335 route.

Any thoughts on the adjustomatic bridge? They get out of tune easily?

Lets wait and see if any other member has this model and could share his comments on it.

All the best

Walter Broes

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
I think I've played most of the Newark Street guitars, and for the money, you can't really go wrong with them. Nice necks, and I like the big frets.