Newbie with a question

Lester13

Reaction score
Hi there,

Just signed up after finding this wonderful forum last week. Been playing guitar for almost 26 years. I'm a guitarist in a old school bluesband(westcoast, swing, Chicago) and a big fan of all roots styles, although I do like a lot of modern day bands as well.

I've had a a starfire III reissue in the past, that I sold (stupid, I know), had a butchered up starfire II that I also sold, and I had a x 500 for two days (it had a few issues). Then I was guildless for a long time, but luckily I bought a 71 ce100d a few weeks ago. It's all original and in a prettig good shape and the fullsize humbuckers are sounding great, very clear, bridge even has some twang.

It has a harp tailpiece, so I bought a bigsby b6. Unfortunately, the neck angle is really shallow, so there is almost no breakangle on the bridge. Now I'm thinking of having a b7 installed but I was wondering if it will hurt the top and affect the sound negatively. Any opinions on having a b7 installed on an archtop?

cc_mac

Reaction score
Welcome to LTG and congrats on your CE100D. Yeah, I don't know about drilling a hole in the top for the B-7. It could be done but it might not be necessary. Have you looked into a Bigsby B-3 ? It's a little shorter than the B-6 which would move the roller away from the bridge and perhaps drop down the curve of the body and give you a sharper break angle. Check out the specs on Bigsby's website.

Please share some pics of your guitar. There doesn't seems to be enough pictures of Guilds around here - especially hollowbodiies!

Lester13

Reaction score
Thx Chris, I'll check out the specs of a B3. Mauve that will work. My only concern is that the handle will too far away and it may look a bit weird because of the shorter tail. On the other hand, the ce-100 is a tad smaller than an es-175 so it maybe a good sollution.

I'll make some pics of the guild and post them this weekend!

Thanks,

Miquel

cc_mac

Reaction score