Newark St A150 savoy vs X175

Ralph

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Am looking to get a jazz guitar and pretty much zeroed down to these two choices, been doing some research but can't come to anything conclusive and would appreciate any feedbacks/opinions. Thanks in advance!

Pardon me if I missed out on a thread that has already covered this topic.

Ralph.

jimmyl51

Reaction score
Ralph,

What kind of things do you want to know exactly? The A-150 is an acoustic archtop with a suspended pickup whereas the X-175 has two set in pickups to be really simple. What kind of music do you play? jim in Maine

guildman63

Reaction score
I played both at LMG IV through my Henriksen Jazz Amp, and while I liked both very much the X175 without the bigsby grabbed me a little more. It is more versatile as well.

Ralph

Reaction score
Hey Jim,

I'm pretty new to archtops and just started out mucking around with jazz standards some and with the guilds looking that good at that price its pretty tempting to get one just for jazz playing/practise

Not sure if this helps, thanks!

Ralph

Reaction score
I'm not too keen on the bigsby myself.The savoy is something new to me, I've seen/heard most great jazz guitarists using guitars along the lines of the x175, so one could say I'm really curious about the savoy.

jimmyl51

Reaction score
Ralph,

Personally I would tend more towards the A-150b or the A-150 (sunburst). You don't need to have an amp to play the guitar and being that you have the suspended pickup you can plug in if you do feel like it. Heck for what is it $1200 with a case out the door you really can't go wrong. The X-175 again is a really cool guitar just IMHO I kind of feel that for your situation the A-150 would just make more sense. jim in Maine

Ralph

Reaction score
Jim,

I actually did and between the videos of the two guitars, I actually preferred the A 150.Just thought I'd seek second opinion from you guys:)Thanks again!

jimmyl51

Reaction score
Ralph,