1955 Guild Model 66 Masteramp

zizala

Silver Supporting
Reaction score
Hi all,

I just acquired a little Masteramp masterpiece......

IMG_0525.jpg

This exact model was cataloged in 1955, though I'm not sure how long its production ran.

Screenshot2011-10-07at61546AM.png

I didn't get the "Guild" footswitch......darn!

Its got the "transformerless" circuit with the pair of 50L6GT tubes....I wasn't hearing anything good about this from my forum research but am completely happy and even amazed at how nice this sounds.
Its as close to pristine as an old amp can get.....just a few nicks and even the fake wood covering has survived in good shape.
For safety's sake I have shut it down for an inspection by my amp guy. Its never been touched inside...the tremolo circuit isn't working.
I'm no amp expert as far as the inner workings go, but would be love to hear from those that might have some knowledge to share.

Other photos including one showing the original canvas zippered cover...

IMG_0531.jpg

IMG_0526.jpg

IMG_0529.jpg

Lastly...to put this in perspective....

Might as well pose this thing with a couple old Guilds from the very same catalog....I'll bet someone in '55-'56 bought either of these guitar/amp combinations.

With 1955 X-50...

IMG_0514.jpg

With 1956 CE-100 (cataloged in '55)

IMG_0518.jpg

Screenshot2011-10-07at62100AM.png
Screenshot2011-10-07at62001AM.png

ziz

AcornHouse

Venerated Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
Nice! I love the rich sound of my '60 99J, which also had to have the tremolo worked on when I had my tech go over it and get a grounded plug. Must have been a common problem.
I got a cheap single foot switch for the trem. It works, but, like you, would love to find an original Guild one.

Get it fixed, get it safe and ENJOY!

Super Moderator
Platinum Supporting
Reaction score
Guild Total
Sweet looking amp! Needs new filtercaps, caps in the trem circuit, three prong plug and an ISOLATION TRANSFORMER, then it's safe to use.