What the heck's a g13?

griehund

Reaction score
Has anybody been to chordbook.com? My favorite spot when I can't figure something out on my own. Scales, chords, jam tracks, community forum, etc. Kinda cool.

Super Moderator
Platinum Supporting
Reaction score
Guild Total
Hadn't seen it before, but thanks for posting it! Methinks we should have a sticky for cool sites like that.

AcornHouse

Venerated Member
Reaction score
Guild Total
Chords are stacks of thirds (notes that are two letter names away.) You can extend these thirds up to a 13th before you start repeating notes.
So, a G13 would be G-B-D-F-A-C-E. In practice, you can leave out the 11th and 5th (even the 9th if necessary) when voicing the chord, leaving you with G-B-F-A-E.

I am a Music professor, so if you (or any LTGers) have any other theory/chord questions, feel free to post or PM me.

fronobulax

Bassist, GAD and the Hot Mess Mods
Reaction score
Guild Total
Default said:
http://randscullard.com/CircleOfFifths/

It makes my head explode.

Back in the day, before the USA went all metric for liquor, "circle of fifths" made for a very interesting drinking game.

griehund

Reaction score
Default said:
http://randscullard.com/CircleOfFifths/

It makes my head explode.

The modes looks like a list of Roman senators. I thought a mixolydian was a bar tender.

AlohaJoe

Reaction score
I always thought it odd that on a guitar forum we don't have a place for music theory/lessons etc.

G13 is a great dominant chord that can be used anywhere you can play a G7.

It imparts a pleasant jazzy sound without sounding too 'outside'. By adding a 6th to the 7th (6+7=13), you get the dominant sound of a G7th but with the softness of a G6th.

One commonly used form is:
bottom E string 3rd fret = G (root)
D string 3rd fret = F (b7)
G string 4th fret = B (3rd)
B string 5th fret = E (6th)

This form is shown here second from the bottom row, second from the right:
http://www.guitarchords247.com/guitar/1061.html