New guy with some questions about my most recent Starfire

eltuce

Reaction score
Hey, hey, like the subject says, new fella here, real name is Tommy. I was a drummer first but have been messing with guitars since about '90. Anyway, I recently acquired this gorgeous Starfire with inlays that I have never seen before. I'm assuming it must have been a custom order of sorts and was wondering if any of you experts out there might be able to tell me a little more about it. I can't help but wonder if it was once owned by someone famous. I also own a red sparkle Starfire IV which I'm guessing might have been discussed here when it was on ebay a while back. So here's some pics of the latest. I already know the bridge was replaced and I don't think the tuners are original. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

IMG_7616.jpg

IMG_7614.jpg

hansmoust

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Hello Tommy,

Welcome! That looks like a nice early '60s Starfire. I don't think I've ever seen an early single cutaway Starfire with a fingerboard like that. If you could give me the complete model designation that's written on the label and the complete serial number, I might be able to find it back in the original ledgers of 'final assembly'.

Also... can you post a photo that shows the complete guitar, headstock included?

Sincerely,

Hans Moust
http://www.guitarsgalore.nl

eltuce

Reaction score
Sure thing, here ya go! I was having a hard time getting a good shot of the whole guitar without glare so I kinda gave up and just used the best one I had.

1s.jpg

2s.jpg

3s.jpg

4s.jpg

I'm pretty sure you can read the label but just in case, it says Model Starfire III, Serial #19062, 1/19/63.

krysh

Guildarist in the mod squad
Reaction score
Guild Total
welcome and congrats to your great guitars.
I'd like to see pix of your sf-4, too! :D

hansmoust

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
eltuce said:
4s.jpg