Help me bust my feedback

legato72

Reaction score
I just got a AC30 with blue alnicos. the new fangdangled chinese ones, but despite that it was expensive and sounds great. My x-50 with the franz is best at getting the best bark/growl out of it. but of course I cant ever gig with my x-50 because of the awful feedback. I'm about to order f-hole plugs from dougsplugs.com but I get a feeling that wont cut it. I remember reading somewhere about wax-potting the pickup. I cant find it but, is that really effective? if it is is it worth doing? sounds like a hassle.

GAD

Reverential Morlock
Über-Morlock
Reaction score
Guild Total
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure that wax potting pickups is to prevent squeal, not feedback.

mad dog

Gone But Not Forgotten
Gone But Not Forgotten
Reaction score
A sound post can help. I put one in a thinline hollowbody peerless. It cut down feedback somewhat, still not enough for higher volume romps. I've been meaning to order f-hole plugs for it ... between the two, that should make things way better.

It's not hard to put a sound post in, if you can pull the pickup, and if you're careful. Never tried it on a thicker body guitar however, so perhaps you could get a skilled tech to advise on this.
MD

Walter Broes

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Describe the feedback you're getting - if it's a high pitched whistle, squeal, then yes, potting your pickup will take care of that.

You almost have to pot most Franz pickups to get them to work at band volume. They're 99% of what I play onstage, and all of mine are potted - and I play 40/50W Fender amps turned up to about five or six with a 17" wide, 3.5" deep Guild archtop, no problems with feedback.

Potting pickups is something you can do yourself if you know what you're doing, and not too big of a hassle. I rewired one of my X175's yesterday night, not thàt's what I call a hassle!! :|

Steve Hoffman

Reaction score