Back into all that jazz, and an amends

yettoblaster

Reaction score
I've been missing in action for a couple/three years as one of our grown sons was diagnosed with lymphoma, which we fought unsuccessfully until almost two years ago.
Shortly after he passed (April 18, 2008) my wife was diagnosed with lung cancer.

So though I was not totally inactive on the web I did manage to slip away from this stellar site.

I also curtailed all gigging activities; retired from one career; worked another job for awhile, then eventually decided I was done working altogether as my wife needed caretaking during chemo/radiation (she is now in remission - yay!). At some point I sold my X-150 after retirement and just kept a Tele around (after a brief fling with a Gretsch or two).

Since her slow comeback from treatment and subsequent return to life, if not normalcy, I began taking some gigs, mostly substituting as a sideman in jazz combos for other guitarists on vacation or double booked, as well as a couple of classic Soul gigs, a bit of studio demo work, and some bar-band dance music jobs once in a great while.

This Spring has seen me become officially "active" again, since some old working musician friends have invited me to join them, and front, "The Castaways" (we've all been fired or quit from a particular local bandleader's dilettantism).

So next Friday night 6-8PM we play the local Kuumbwa jazz club, <http://www.kuumbwajazz.org/index.php> which is on the National "circuit," as background jazz for a local Democratic fundraiser ($75/person).

Then our next slated gig is May 7 (another Fri nite) at Gazos Grill, which is a restaurant/bar up the coast road from here in Santa Cruz (yeah, we'll probably include "At Last" on the set list for that job too)!

So amends to all for being MIA so long.