Folk at the Oak

JerryR

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Way, way North East Texas, Wiltshire, England
I'm not good at posting a new topic - did one last night and it's disappeared into the wild blue yonder. I'm guessing because I didn't title it :oops:

Anyway, gist of the message was Thursday night I was heading off to the Royal Oak, Corsham for the Thursday night session. Difference being last night some digital radio station called Britfolk was going to record the session. Thought that might put people off, but no, when I got there, place was packed, and people I hadn't seen for years and people I'd never seen before were there along with the usual crowd :!:

I got one song in - up on stage with a barrage of mikes and a guy recording it all on something like a spaceship console. Final program (don't know release date yet) will be one hour, and whole session recorded was 2 1/2 hours, so don't know if my effort will end up on the cuttingroom floor. However, we may all get a CD of the night so if so, I will try and find some way of uploading my poor offering onto somewhere you can access it - that is so long as when I hear it it doesn't embarrass me too much :roll: Least you'd get to hear the guitar even if the guy playing it is not worthy of it.

Guildmark

Gone But Not Forgotten
Gone But Not Forgotten
Reaction score
That sounds like mounds of fun, JerryR! Can't wait to hear it! Were there any performers who stood out (other than yourself, of course) that we should watch for?

http://www.radiobritfolkhome.co.uk/

Looks like a pretty cool station. I've only begun to learn of the British folk scene history, like the YouTube someone recently posted of John Joyce. But I'm sure liking what I'm hearing in all the things I missed when they were happening! :?

Cheers!

JerryR

Enlightened Member
Reaction score
Guildmark said: